It’s been a bit quiet on the blog front… but, in anticipation of summer coming (oh, it’ll be here before you know it), I have a couple of books on my bookshelf to eventually read and can share with you…

I’ve already written before about the Essential Edwards series before, but I just finished the volume On Beauty and it was such a refreshing read as Owen Strachan masterfully brings the writings of Edwards together explaining the beauty of the glory of God.  I plan on reading another soon.

Tim Keller is favorite author of mine and he has a DVD and book series out called The Gospel in Life: Grace Changes Everything.  I previewed it and it looks like a great resource for small groups.  There is a review online from TGC Reviews.  Here’s a bit of it… “For many church members the term gospel-centered is equated with evangelism-centered. It is not a surprising mistake since many in our churches have not been taught, biblically, how the gospel applies to the Christian life beyond conversion.  Timothy Keller and Zondervan have teamed up to produce Gospel in Life: Grace Changes Everything (DVD). The DVD is an eight-session course on the gospel and how it is lived out in all of life – your heart, workplace, community, and the nations – taught by Keller himself.”

I love science, but not from the technical side of things.  It is more so from the literary and magesterial sense of how it displays the wonder and grand design of God.  I’ve been impressed with Stephen Meyer as a writer and author so I plan to read his well-received book Signature in the Cell: DNA and the Evidence for Intelligent Design.  He’s a smart individual and in this book he tells of his story in research and corrects some of the misconceptions in regard to the intelligent design movement.

A classic on my bookshelf, but I am ashamed to say that I haven’t read yet by one of my favorite authors is The Problem of Pain  by C.S. Lewis.  It’s a short read, but I promise I’ll get to it this year!

There are a number of more titles that I can list… but I’ll wait until another post!

